Adams Lectureship

The Ralph N. Adams Lectureship was established in 2017 thanks to funding generously donated by two Adams research group alumni, Donald W. Leedy and Theodore Kuwana. The intent of this annual lectureship is to maintain cognizance of Prof. Adams's contributions as a scientist, mentor and humanitarian. The selected lecturer will be a prominent scientist in the field of bioanalytical chemistry, broadly defined, who can bring fresh research perspectives to the KU campus and whose research has been influenced by the research of Prof. Adams. The lectureship is jointly organized by KU's Department of Chemistry and the Adams Institute.

Selected lecturers include:

Kennedy award photo

Robert T. Kennedy

Hobart H. Willard Distinguished University Professor and Chair of Chemistry
Professor of Pharmacology
University of Michigan
Scientific Lecture Friday, September 6
“The Nanoliter Lab: Droplet Microfluidics for Screening and Sensing”

Wightman award photo

2018 (Inaugural)
R. Mark Wightman

Emeritus W.R. Kenan, Jr. Professor of Chemistry
The University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
Public Lecture Thursday, November 15, 4:00pm
"Detecting Catecholamines--A Journey from Beaker to the Behaving Brain"
Scientific Lecture Friday, November 16
       "Chemical Monitoring of Neurotransmission with Microelectrodes"


One of 34 U.S. public institutions in the prestigious Association of American Universities
44 nationally ranked graduate programs.
—U.S. News & World Report
Top 50 nationwide for size of library collection.
5th nationwide for service to veterans —"Best for Vets: Colleges," Military Times