Ralph N. Adams Award in Bioanalytical Chemistry

The Ralph N. Adams Award was established in 2005 with funds raised from friends and former students of Ralph Adams. The award recognizes significant contributions to the field of bioanalytical chemistry, broadly defined. The recipient will have introduced a significant technique, theory, instrument or application important to the life sciences, and provided an exceptional environment to educate bioanalytical chemists. Ralph N. Adams (1924 - 2002) exemplified these characteristics as a distinguished professor of chemistry at the University of Kansas.

The award consists of a $2500 cash award and is celebrated with a half day symposia at Pittcon (travel costs paid by Pittcon). The recipient is selected by an anonymous committee consisting of former award winners and former students of R. N. Adams. Nomination guidelines can be found via Pittcon's website: http://pittcon.org/technical-program/call-for-nominations.

The recipients of the award are:

Mirkin photo2018
Chad A. Mirkin

George B. Rathmann Professor of Chemistry, Medicine, Materials Science & Engineering, Biomedical Engineering, Chemical & Biological Engineering
Northwestern University

Kennedy photo2017
Robert T. Kennedy

Hobart H. Willard Distinguished University Professor and Chair of Chemistry
Professor of Pharmacology
University of Michigan

Walt photo2016
David R. Walt

University Professor of Chemistry
Tufts University

John Yates photo2015
John R. Yates III

Ernest W. Hahn Professor of Chemical Physiology and Molecular & Cellular Neurobiology
The Scripps Research Institute

Meyerhoff photo2014
Mark E. Meyerhoff

Philip J. Elving Collegiate Professor of Chemistry
University of Michigan

J. Michael Ramsey photo2013
J. Michael Ramsey

Minnie N. Goldby Distinguished Professor of Chemistry Chair
The University of North Carolina – Chapel Hill

Jonathan Sweedler photo2012
Jonathan V. Sweedler

James R. Eiszner Family Chair in Chemistry
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

James Jorgenson photo

James Jorgenson

W. R. Kenan, Jr. Professor of Chemistry
The University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill

Catherine Fenselau photo

Catherine Fenselau

Professor of Chemistry & Biochemistry
University of Maryland

Graham Cooks photo

Graham Cooks

Henry B. Hass Distinguished Professor of Analytical Chemistry
Purdue University

Milos Novotny photo

Milos Novotny

Distinguished Professor Emeritus of Chemistry
Indiana University

Norm Dovichi  phtot

Norm Dovichi

Grace Rupley Professor of Chemistry and Biochemistry
University of Notre Dame

Mark Wightman  photo

Mark Wightman

W.R. Kenan, Jr. Professor of Chemistry
The University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill

Ed Yeung  photo

Ed Yeung

Robert Allen Wright Professor and Distinguished Professor of Chemistry
Iowa State University

One of 34 U.S. public institutions in the prestigious Association of American Universities
44 nationally ranked graduate programs.
—U.S. News & World Report
Top 50 nationwide for size of library collection.
5th nationwide for service to veterans —"Best for Vets: Colleges," Military Times