Ralph N. Adams Award in Bioanalytical Chemistry

photo of Ralph Adams in lab

About the Award

The Ralph N. Adams Award was established in 2005 with funds raised from friends and former students of Ralph Adams. The award recognizes significant contributions to the field of bioanalytical chemistry, broadly defined. The recipient will have introduced a significant technique, theory, instrument or application important to the life sciences, and provided an exceptional environment to educate bioanalytical chemists. Ralph N. Adams (1924 - 2002) exemplified these characteristics as a distinguished professor of chemistry at the University of Kansas.

The award consists of a $2500 cash award and is celebrated with a half day symposia at Pittcon (travel costs paid by Pittcon). The recipient is selected by an anonymous committee consisting of former award winners and former students of R. N. Adams. Adams Award nomination guidelines can be found on Pittcon's website.

Complete list of Adams Award recipients
YearAward RecipientTitleInstitution
2024Susan M. Lunte

Ralph N. Adams Distinguished Professor of Chemistry and Pharmaceutical Chemistry, Director of Adams Institute for Bioanalytical Chemistry, PI & Director of NIH COBRE Center for Molecular Analysis of Disease Pathways

University of Kansas
2023Joseph WangSAIC Endowed Chair, Distinguished Professor of Nanoengineering, and Director of the Center for Wearable Sensors University of California at San Diego
2022Steven SoperFoundation Distinguished Professor of Chemistry & Mechanical EngineeringUniversity of Kansas
2021Andrew G. EwingProfessor of Chemistry & Molecular BiologyUniversity of Gothenburg
2020Nancy L. AlbrittonProfessor of Bioengineering and Frank & Julie Jungers Dean, College of EngineeringUniversity of Washington
2019Weihong TanV. T. and Louise Jackson Professor of ChemistryUniversity of Florida
2018Chad A. MirkinGeorge B. Rathmann Professor of Chemistry, Medicine, Materials Science & Engineering, Biomedical Engineering, Chemical & Biological EngineeringNorthwestern University
2017Robert T. KennedyHobart H. Willard Distinguished University Professor and Chair of Chemistry; Professor of PharmacologyUniversity of Michigan
2016David R. WaltUniversity Professor of ChemistryTufts University
2015John R. Yates IIIErnest W. Hahn Professor of Chemical Physiology and Molecular & Cellular NeurobiologyThe Scripps Research Institute
2014Mark E. MeyerhoffPhilip J. Elving Collegiate Professor of ChemistryUniversity of Michigan
2013J. Michael RamseyMinnie N. Goldby Distinguished Professor of Chemistry ChairUniversity of North Carolina - Chapel Hill
2012Jonathan V. SweedlerJames R. Eiszner Family Chair in ChemistryUniversity of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
2011James JorgensonW. R. Kenan, Jr. Distinguished Professor of ChemistryUniversity of North Carolina - Chapel Hill
2010Catherine FenselauProfessor of Chemistry & BiochemistryUniversity of Maryland
2009Graham CooksHenry B. Haas Distinguished Professor of Analytical ChemistryPurdue University
2008Milos NovotnyDistinguished Professor Emeritus of ChemistryIndiana University
2007Norm DovichiGrace Rupley Professor of Chemistry and BiochemistryUniversity of Notre Dame
2006R. Mark WightmanW. R. Kenan, Jr. Professor of ChemistryUniversity of North Carolina - Chapel Hill
2005Ed YeungRobert Allen Wright Professor and Distinguished Professor of ChemistryIowa State University