cartoon image of Ralph Adams teaching a chemistry class

Ralph N. Adams Lectureship at KU

An annual lectureship established in 2017 to maintain cognizance of Prof. Adams's contributions as a scientist, mentor and humanitarian

The Ralph N. Adams Lectureship at KU was established in 2017 thanks to funding generously donated by two Adams research group alumni, Donald W. Leedy and Theodore Kuwana. The intent of this annual lectureship is to maintain cognizance of Prof. Adams's contributions as a scientist, mentor and humanitarian. The selected lecturer will be a prominent scientist in the field of bioanalytical chemistry, broadly defined, who can bring fresh research perspectives to the KU campus and whose research has been influenced by the research of Prof. Adams. The lectureship is jointly organized by KU's Department of Chemistry and the Adams Institute.

Andrew Ewing (2024)

Department of Chemistry & Molecular Biology
University of Gothenburg, Sweden

“Electrochemistry and Mass Spectrometry Imaging of Nanometer Neurotransmitter Vesicles”

Andrew Ewing

Nancy Allbritton (2023)

Frank & Julie Jungers Dean
College of Engineering
Professor of Bioengineering
University of Washington

"Designing Functional Microdevices for Biomedical Research"

photo of Nancy Allbritton in lab

Jonathan V. Sweedler (2021)

James R. Eiszner Family Endowed Chair in Chemistry
Director, School of Chemical Sciences
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

“High Throughput Single Cell Chemical Characterization of the Brain"

group at award ceremony for 2021 Adams Lecture

Robert T. Kennedy (2019)

Hobart H. Willard Distinguished University Professor of Chemistry, Pharmacology, Chair of Chemistry, University of Michigan

"The Nanoliter Lab: Droplet Microfluidics for Screening and Sensing"

group at award ceremony for 2019 Adams Lecture

R. Mark Wightman (2018, Inaugural)

W.R. Kenan, Jr. Professor Emeritus of Chemistry, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill

"Detecting Catecholamines--A Journey from Beaker to the Behaving Brain"
"Chemical Monitoring of Neurotransmission with Microelectrodes"
(public & scientific lectures)

group photo at award ceremony for 2018 Adams Lecture